Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Blood test results. I'm anemic and have low vitamin D. page

Katie82 is offline Senior Member

Blood test results. I'm anemic and have low vitamin D.

Primal Fuel
    But why?

I've been supplementing for 7 months about 7,000-25,000 IU vitamin D a week and obviously I eat enough meat and greens that I shouldn't be anemic. The doctor said it was iron deficiency anemia although I haven't seen the test myself but she said I had "very low iron" and my D level is 21. Not good.
    So I'm not absorbing nutrients correctly. She's sending me to a Gastroenterologist and I'm getting a bone density scan since my major complaint is bone pain. Does anyone know what would cause malabsorbtion? I know I was zinc deficient too because I had white spots on my nails all of my life until I started supplementing. Who know what else I'm deficient in. My doctor wouldn't test any other vitmain levels but maybe my GI doc will.
    This is likely why I haven't been feeling better on the PB. I can eat properly until I'm blue in the face but if I can't absorb it... I might as well be eating SAD. Okay, that's not completely true.
    The good is that I used to have higher cholesterol and triglycerides. I think 200 cholesterol and 250 trig but I don't know LDL and HDL since it was over a year ago. Now my trigs are down to 163 and my HDL was 63, LDL 90.

My TSH was 2.4. She refused to test T3 and T4 and insists that 2.4 is "normal" even though I have every damn symptom of hypothyroidism. I don't know what to do about that yet. I guess I'll see how I feel after getting my iron up.

So, my questions...

what iron supplement is good and easily absorbed?
    What could be causing malabsorbtion?