Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Help me gross myself out, please! (fun but serious) page

gottaluvalab is offline Senior Member

Help me gross myself out, please! (fun but serious)

Primal Fuel
    I am a teacher. They are constantly feeding us for free, which is tempting--and the offerings are always artificial and carb-oriented, the type of food that gets snarfed up and everyone says, "wow, that was a hit!" and tries to out-do it, usually more cheaply, so the food keeps getting more and more ugly, deadly, and tempting (and yes, it is tempting to me--sorry guys, but I don't see that changing).

I have done my fair share of lounge-food snarfing, and it is still a constant temptation. Today I avoided the copious amounts of baked goods and the juices to go along with them, but I fell victim to catered leftover breaded chicken in sweet Italian sauce. In addition to the breaded part, it made the difference between meeting my calorie goal and blowing it.

I need to somehow twist my thinking so that lounge food is equivalent to dumpster-diving in my mind.

I've decided that I'm going to spend some time doing some sort of reverse meditation, where I get myself all worked up... I'm going to picture roaches and mice (which certainly live in the building) crawling all over the counters and making their way into the food... and swarms of flies, of all kinds... and I'm going to picture coworkers sneezing on stuff... and students dropping the food on the ground and the wrestling mats as they bring food boxes in the back gym door...

Help me, folks. What other horrific images of lounge food finds can I get in my mind to help me avoid eating it???

naiadknight is online now Senior Member
    Been there. What works for me is trying to pronounce all the crap in the ingredients list. After seeing all that, I'm less enthused to eat it. That and the rat/ roach trick should work.
    "No fate but what we make"- Sarah Connor, Terminator 2