Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Fitness Play - Sword Play? page

Laguz is offline Member

Fitness Play - Sword Play?

Primal Fuel
    Hello, I'm pretty new to the primal lifestyle, so I'm still trying to put together some fitness and play options.

Over the last few years, I've collected a few swords for decoration. They're small-medium in size (a little larger than your average machete), one-handed, and are pretty blunt. They were bought at bargain price, and are a bit chipped here and there, so I'm not worried about keeping them in pristine condition. I am trying to think of ways I can incorporate sword play or learning how to sword fight into my weekly play, but I have no idea where to begin. Eventually, I would like to be able to handle both one-handed and heavy two-handed swords. Any suggestions would be very much appreciated!

PrimalWannabeGirl is offline Senior Member
    Ohhhhhhhhhhhh, I was on the fencing team in college. Women's foil. Back then, women didn't fence epee or sabre.

Hard to imagine "playing" with a real blade. That precludes a partner. Unless you rig up a dummy and tie it to a tree. However, if you like the idea of fencing for exercise, see if there is a salle d'armes (fencing school) in your city or town. It's fantastic exercise----like a sprint using all of your body, plus your mind.....a little like physical chess.

PWG

Laguz is offline Member
    Great, thanks! When I say play, I mean doing drills, or exercises to get used to handling a sword, or becoming a kid again and defending myself from pirates with a bokken/wooden sword. Fencing sounds like fun! I'll do a bit of digging, and see what I can find.

SpiritWarrior is offline Member
    look on amazon, theres an exercise program called forza that may be just what you are looking for

Abu Reena is offline Senior Member

Motley is offline Junior Member
    What you want to do is look into HEMA (Historical European Martial Arts) also refereed to as WMA (Western Martial Arts).