Thread: New to Primal Blueprint and Primal Fitness page

Old Glory is offline Junior Member

New to Primal Blueprint and Primal Fitness

Hi I am new to all of this. I made the decision to try Primal after a recommendation from a friend. I have slowly been gaining weight over the past several years struggling to try and shed the pounds. I work a demanding office job that keeps me sedentary all day but I am able to get to the gym during lunch two or three times a week. I had been trying to moderate my caloric intake and hitting the gym a few times a week for spin classes and occasional weight lifting. It did not work to keep the weight off it only made me crave more carbs.

I am overweight (5' 10" 220 med/ frame) but have decent cardio from spinning. My primary fitness goal has been to loose weight and strengthen my legs for skiing. My current efforts have not resulted in the desired weight loss, but my legs are pretty strong.

I am starting over, reprogramming my body, using the Primal Blueprint. I have been eating a primal diet for a week now. I have not craved carbs yet. I even cooked a pasta meal for my family and just poured sauce over a couple of hamburger patties, with no desire to partake in the pasta and pasta was a favorite meal!

Now for my question. I am developing my Fitness Program based on Primal Fitness, but I still want to focus on my legs for skiing. Here is what I propose:

Day 1: Sprint – Spinning Class

Day 2: Move Slowly – Walk to work 30min round trip. 30 - 45 min no more than 60% max heart rate stationary bike or elliptical.

Day 3: WOW – Squats 4 sets; Romanian Dead Lifts 4 sets; Leg Extension 4 sets; Leg curl 4 sets. Walk to work 30min round trip.

Day 4: Move Slowly – Walk to work 30min round trip. 30 – 45 min no more than 60% max heart rate stationary bike or elliptical.

Day 5: LHT – Progressive Body Weight Strength Training. Walk to work 30min round trip.