Thread: Atkins vs. PB page

okhuskerfan is offline Junior Member

Atkins vs. PB

Primal Fuel
    Bare with me here, I am a newbie and just started reading the book-very interesting BTW. I have also read Dr. Aktin's book and agree with a lot of what he writes. I notice similarities between the two...has anyone here also read/followed Atkins? If so, what are the main differences?

theholla is offline Senior Member
    I consider PB to be more holistic and comprehensive, with a much higher emphasis on food quality and overall health. Here's an example of Mark's take on it:

Dr. Robert Atkins is the pioneer of low-carb diets, having first published his material in 1972 with great popularity, and controversy. Flying in the face of the government-promoted Conventional Wisdom of low fat, high carb diets, Atkins weathered the criticism and developed a brand that thrived for decades. The Atkins diet has serious flaws but his central premise of low carb eating deserves credit as being revolutionary. It has only been since his death in 2003 that the Atkins diet has enjoyed increasing medical acceptance and as an effective weight-loss technique.

While Atkins laudably restricts processed carbs like sugar, breads, pasta, cereal and starchy vegetables, the plan stumbles with its sometimes draconian restriction on total carbohydrate intake. The Atkins recommendation to consume only twenty net grams (i.e. digestible grams, so you exclude fiber and sugar alcohol) of carbohydrates per day (this is for the first two weeks of the diet, with allowances to gradually increase daily intake for long-term maintenance – but still advocating well under one hundred grams per day) greatly compromises the participant’s intake of the most nutrient dense foods on the planet: fruits and vegetables.