Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sick foods page

Tracy is offline Junior Member

Sick foods

Primal Fuel
    Hi Everybody,

Hope you all are doing well. I am home sick with strep throat (probably). I am just wondering if you guys have any foods that you would eat lots of to help your immune system fight. I definitely have an appetite, I just feel like my head is going to explode, and my throat is very sore. I'm drinking lots of water, and supplementing with Vitamin D, krill oil, and a multi vitamin. I am a college student and need to be back on my feet asap!

Thank you!

Tracy

MeatMe216 is offline Senior Member
    I am fighting off a mild throat irritation (dare i say infection??) myself
    bone broth!
    fresh garlic/ginger
    SLEEP!

mizski is offline Senior Member
    Have you checked to see if it's strep throat (white spots in back of mouth)? If you see the spots, IMO you need to seek medical attention and get some antibiotics.

Broths are always good. So is hot tea with lemon & honey. When I had strep a couple of years ago the bestest thing ever was full-fat FAGE Total Greek yogurt. Gee, that stuff was like magic and was the only thing that actually made my throat feel better.

lizch is offline Senior Member
    Seconding the bone broth. Chicken soup has scientific backing as something that eases colds...I assume it would also work for strep throat.
    Liz.

Zone diet on and off for several years....worked, but too much focus on exact meal composition
    Primal since July 2010...skinniest I've ever been and the least stressed about food

Tracy is offline Junior Member
    My grocery store only has "chicken broth" and does not explicitly say if it is from bone or not. Any opinions if this is just as good? (As long as it doesnt have other wierd things in it that no one can pronounce)

Grizz is offline Banned

Tracy,
    To boost our immune systems we take the following,

1 tblsp each:
    * Diatomacious Powder