Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Is it really sustainable long term? page

Bettty is offline Junior Member

Is it really sustainable long term?

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Hey everyone,

I'm a newbie. I've been lurking for a while, and I've had most of my questions answered, but I keep coming up with the nagging question of sustainability.

I'm a 24 y/o gal. I weigh about 235-240 right now. 5'8" (though I used to be 5'9"). I've come to the conclusion that I'm fat as hell. It didn't take much scientific inquiry to reach this conclusion--just a mirror and two eyes.

Recently I joined weight watchers. I have been on WW for about 3 weeks now and I'm down around 10#. But I'm running into the age old problem of counting points. It's tedious and I forget/give up for days at a time. (As an aside--WW is not so bad. They focus on whole foods more than ever, so they're trending primal, if you will.) In the past I got down to a very reasonable 170 lbs. on WW, but stopped counting and gained. I know that it can work, but counting is not my thing.

However, I'm wary of committing to the Primal Blueprint because I was on a low carb diet before, and it's hard for me to see the differences between that and PB. I had great success on that "go around" but as soon as I went off the diet, the weight piled back on. I know a major difference here is that PB is a way of life, whereas I was young (17ish) and impulsive around food.

My question is for those of you who have been on PB for a long time. Can you really resist the carbs and sugar for years? OR does the 80-20 rule cover those necessary moments of weakness? (I also know that the 80-20 is not a free-food pass, but would it cover, for example, a meal at a really ritzy place that included some carbs in the elf-food meal you get?) The 80-20 rule is a bold step against all-or-nothing thinking, and I love that idea, but I'm talking about decades of eating this way.

Thanks in advance for your responses.