Thread: Sample Mealplan - Hypothyroid Active 34 year old woman - HELP! page

eobrien is offline Junior Member

Sample Mealplan - Hypothyroid Active 34 year old woman - HELP!

Hi all - so I am new to this eating plan - having tried ... like everything. You name it. I have been on a long journey - and this just feels right. Makes sense. But I am struggling with the whole notion of NOT counting calories or fat - and calories in/vs. out theory. I don't want to lose or gain - but am prone to gaining being hypothyroid. I am a runner - run daily.
    what are your thoughts on an appropriate mealplan/ideas for me?

Thank you so much! erica

NutMeg is offline Senior Member
    Hi! Fellow hypo here, if you click my link in my siggy you will see at teh bottom of my blog what this way of eating has done for me

As for how to eat. I follow the eat when I am hungry plan. I usually end up at the 50/30/20 ranges with fat being 50%, protein being 40% and carbs being 20% of my total. Of course it is a fluid thing and somedays I have 60% fat.

I eat usually eggs and some meat for breakfast. I still eat fruits and veggies, more veggies than fruits. I eat meat, nuts and seeds. I try not to get too religous about it all. When I am hungry I eat, when I am not hungry I don't eat. When I first started I ate a lot of fruit and still lost weight. I started in August though, which is fruit season. As the year went on I ate less fruit.

THe important thing is to eat real food, avoid grains, beans and potatoes. Only eat things that make you feel good. If you follow those simple priciples you will be just fine

naiadknight is online now Senior Member
    I'm a hypo myself, albeit 5 years younger. It's done wonders for me.
    My typical day:
    Breakfast: I don't eat until I get hungry, which is usually around noon. So breakfast is 2- 3 20 oz mugs of tea.
    Lunch: Meat and veggies, e.g. HUGE salad with leftover meat on it, stir fry, tortilla soup (no tortillas or corn) and salad, leftovers