Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need Help/Advice page

beamteam is offline Junior Member

Need Help/Advice

Hello All-

I'm posting today because I need your help. I've been Primal now for about 2 1/2 months and loved it at first but now I think its a lifestyle I cannot continue. I started Primal because I wanted to trim up and play at a leaner quicker weight. I play Lacrosse in college and in my senior year I wanted to do all that I could to play my best. I started primal over the summer when I had to get surgery and would not be able to workout at all for a month or so- didn't want to get fat so I worked hard at the diet. I lost weight and felt healthy, my carb intake was sub 50 grams most days. I got back to school about a month ago and was finally cleared to start playing again. Training consists of a 2 hour practice 3 times a week and a 1 hour lift three times a week so I'm doing something 6 days a week. When I started playing again I noticed my body was permanently sore and not recovering well at all. I initially believed it was because of the time off and just kept pushing through. Nothing changed though- my legs continued to have no explosion and felt sore all the time. I then tried adding more carbs, through veggies and fruits and tubers, no grains! This did nothing- I was eating 100-200 grams a day in carbs but my legs just won't get better. It's seriously affecting my perfomance as I'm someone who needs to be fast and strong daily. I'm considering falling back into conventional wisdom and just eating lean meats and protiens along with whole grains. Also, when I added more carbs in I lost some of my definition and muscle tone which is a concern of mine. I'm not really sure what to do, should I start eating whole grain or wild rice, quinoa, more fruits, veggies, how much of each? I need to get my legs back but I also want to maintian my leanness. I shop locally and eat only from my farmers market. Any advice/suggestions are greatly appreciated.