Thread: Any Primal Attorneys out there? (RE: Statin Scam) page

mdlaw is offline Senior Member

Any Primal Attorneys out there? (RE: Statin Scam)

Shop Now
    Caveat- I know (and agree with) a lot of people who think we are an overly litigious society.

However, bored today at work I started thinking about all the people who have suffered from following CW health advice. I started reading specifically about statins, and reflecting on them, and on all the other drug scams that leave people poorer and less healthy than when they began (Rolling Stone had a great article a few years back by Ben Wallace talking about the aggressive marketing of antipsychotics off label to people with other mental health issues, and how damaging it was, and how ultimately the drug companies had their feet held to the fire).

I'm a law student, and I began to think about what would happen if someone identified a class of people who had really suffered from taking statins, say a group that fell outside the previous heart attack and under 65 male group who have been "proven" to benefit from statins. These other people would have no scientifically proven reason to take them, and would be experiencing a whole host of side effects. With discovery, an attorney representing such a group could gain access to a lot of the internal materials of the drug companies, and presumably would uncover an explicit campaign to market drugs to people their own research shows cannot benefit from them. If such a lawsuit succeeded, and I can imagine that it very well could, it would be a huge "emperor has no clothes" moment. Think about the effects of the asbestos and tobacco law suits, and the fact that statins are the most profitable drugs in history.