Thread: Chronic knee pain page

Chronic knee pain

Primal Fuel
    So I have had some mild knee pain for about a year. Like i said the pain itself is very mild and is usually present when walking. It's still pretty annoying and I fear it might get worse over time. The pain usually comes when walking, sometimes it's a bit worse sometimes I can't feel anything. Doing squats doesn't hurt at all.

So I went once to a GP and she had no idea and told to see a physiotherapist. The physiotherapist didn't find anything wrong with my knee. She just said I'm slightly flat footed and told that I might need custom shoe insoles. Instead I ended up reading about barefoot running and how it might help knee pain and people with flat foot. So I have been walking in minimal footwear for 1-2 months but the knee-pain is still there, but now usually in both knees whereas before it was just in left knee. Might be also a wrong technique but looks like the barefoot walking is not helping much.

Does any of you have suggestions what could be causing the pain? Maybe the custom shoe insoles could help? Maybe it's some kind of chronic inflammation? I'm 23 years old so some kind of arthritis is probably pretty unlikely but who knows.

Al_Kavadlo is offline Senior Member
    Do you do squats and lunges? They will make the muscles and connective tissues around your knees much stronger if done consistently and with appropriate resistance (which in the beginning will probably just be your body weight).
    "In theory, theory and practice are the same. In practice, they couldn't be more different."

"You can have anything you want, but you can't have everything you want."

My blog: http://www.AlKavadlo.com

john_e_turner_ii is offline Senior Member