Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: PB and breast feeding? page

Saoirse is offline Senior Member

PB and breast feeding?

Obviously Ms. Grok breast fed her kids, so it would seem that the PB is compatible with breast feeding. I'm thinking of going lower-carb. Today was a really high-carb day at around 250-300 carbohydrates (the culprits were arborio rice, a full bar of dark chocolate, and half a cantaloupe), but normally I'm closer to the upper 100s, maybe 180ish. Does anyone have experience with nursing and going down to 50-100? I'm sure I can do it, I just want to make sure that I won't be a grumpy mess, and that I'll have the energy to take care of my kiddoes (I have two small kids and a 4 month old). Any tips?

Viking is offline Senior Member
    I'm not an expert on breastfed babies, although I play one on TV.

It seems to me the paleo/PB diet is the best suited for a healthful outcome for your kids, mainly due to increased amount of omega-3 vs. omega-6 fats.

I always recommend taking plenty of fish oil to women who are pregnant and/or breast feeding. Your kid's brains will thank you later.

I haven't answered your questions really, maybe someone else can get closer for you. Congrats on being a smart mom!!

Barefoot is offline Member
    I am nursing too, and personally, my energy level suffered a bit when I tried to stay around 75g. 'Baby brain' fogginess came back for me at those levels (though not as bad as it was before I went primal!) so I usually stay in the 100-150g range and that's working really well for me.

arthurb999 is offline Senior Member
    My wife eats about 100g a day and baby is doing great.

Primallady is offline Senior Member
    I stayed higher carb (fruit and starchy veggies) when I was nursing and I made sure to eat plenty of fat.

slesca is offline Senior Member
    Rural midwest; just outside a mid-sized city