Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Okay, I probably have a silly question. page

Shelly1963 is offline Junior Member

Okay, I probably have a silly question.

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    I am new to the primal eating lifestyle and I have seen a lot of reference to coconut and almond flour. My question is does the coconut flour taste like coconut? The Coconut Pancakes sound good, but I do not know if I could handle the coconut flavor in a pancake. Thanks!

Shelly

mizski is offline Senior Member
    I've read that some brands do taste coconutty. I use Bob's Red Mill coco flour and don't really notice a coconut flavor especially when I use it to make savory foods.

dragonmamma is offline Senior Member
    I don't notice the flavor, but I use so much coconut oil that I'm probably immune to it unless it's really strong. Heck, give it a try. One pound goes a long way. In the pancake recipe, it's only 1/4 cup flour to 4 eggs.

tfarny is offline Senior Member
    I think it does taste like coconut. But coconut pancakes are kind of like an alcoholic drinking near-beer to some extent. I've done it a couple of times I must admit. Better imhop to stick w/eggs + meat & veg for breakfast. If you want to, go ahead don't get me wrong. But you'll generally find that "substitute" foods aren't really as satisfying overall - everyone has their own journey though.

Peggy is offline Senior Member
    Coconut flour is finely ground coconut. So, you will get some coconut flavour. I like coming up with blends of tastes like almond & coconut, or hazelnut & chocolate. Coconut flour is very tricky to work with as it is super-dooper dry. If you have the time, try different recipes & experiment!! I agree with tfarny on the breakfast thing. I love frittatas, scrambles, omelettes etc for breakfast. as a garnish for bacon ;p

hazyjane is offline Senior Member