Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Non-organic eggs? page

rphlslv is offline Senior Member

With the subtraction of grains, naturally eggs would be the next staple of my diet. Lately I've found myself eating as much as 6 organic eggs a day to satisfy my caloric needs. That's about 3.5 dozens a week, 25$ just in eggs. Obviously I can't afford organic much longer (I'm a college student.) So my question is: should I opt for non-organic eggs, or am I better off with no eggs at all? Same with milk.

.`.><((((> .`.><((((>.`.><((((>.`.><(( ((>
    ><((((> .`.><((((>.`.><((((>.`.><(( ((>

maba is offline Senior Member

I believe you can do away with milk. But can you cut down on something else to ensure you get your organic eggs. Btw, I hope you mean pastured eggs. Organic eggs (from hens that are fed Organic GRAINS) shouldn&#39;t cost you that much.

The brand is Eggland&#39;s Best.

http://www.egglandsbest.com/home.aspx

Seven dollars for 2 dozens at costco.

What do you think?

maba is offline Senior Member

It says "Organic Vegetarian Feed", which means Organic Grains - not the natural diet of chicken. I think the price is steep. I pay about $4/doz for pastured eggs - from hens that are free to roam on a pasture and eat grubs and insects. Do you have access to a farmer&#39;s market or a farm. You could work out a deal, you can say you&#39;ll buy 3-4 dozens every week and see if they can give you a discount.

There are many markets around NYC but I doubt they are organic. It&#39;s still worth taking a look at I guess, especially at Chinatown (very cheap). But then again, this IS New York. The next farm must be about 2 thousand miles away.

FlyNavyWife is offline Senior Member

Wow, that&#39;s really expensive. I think our EB eggs are like 1.60ish per dozen... I don&#39;t love that they&#39;re from vegetarian (read: grain-fed) chickens... but they&#39;re what&#39;s in our store.