Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sam-E or 5-HTP anyone? page

Selah is offline Senior Member

Sam-E or 5-HTP anyone?

Shop Now
    Ok, this is the deal. I am wanting to hear from you if you are using Sam-E or 5 HTP. I have been eating primal for a few months now;however, I have several chronic health issues and recently fell off the wagon with my food and have gained about 5 pounds really fast.
    I am one that suffers with high anxiety, so I am thinking maybe Sam-E or 5 HTP would be beneficial.
    Anyone with experience here would be appreciated.

strom is offline Senior Member
    GABA and L Tryptophan help. Gaba is a neuro inhibitor, tryptophan makes serotonin and melotonin.

cillakat is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Selah View Post
    Ok, this is the deal. I am wanting to hear from you if you are using Sam-E or 5 HTP. I have been eating primal for a few months now;however, I have several chronic health issues and recently fell off the wagon with my food and have gained about 5 pounds really fast.
    I am one that suffers with high anxiety, so I am thinking maybe Sam-E or 5 HTP would be beneficial.
    Anyone with experience here would be appreciated.
    tooooo much experience here on that front.

SAM-e increases dopamine and can increase anxiety but for me, it acts as a mood stabilizer

I'd recommend inositol as a first line of defense. And L-tryptophan as a second.

Using inositol for promoting brain wellness: an interview with Robert Belmaker, MD - Nutritional Medicine Update - Interview | Townsend Letter for Doctors and Patients | Find Articles at BNET

My links also have some info

iherb referral code CIL457- $5 off first order

Doesn't l tyrosine increase dopamine? Dopamine is what is effected by ritalin I believe. Perhaps ADHD is a form of depression?

cillakat is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by strom View Post
    Doesn't l tyrosine increase dopamine?
    it can. so does SAM-e.