Thread: Primal Squeal - Kazazi's Journal page

Kazazi is offline Junior Member

Red face Primal Squeal - Kazazi's Journal

Primal Fuel
    Right, this is my first post on MDA - hello everybody!

I am starting this thread for the 2010 Primal Challenge, let's see where it goes

So without further ado, here's my intro:

I'm a biologist and journalist and have been interested in both healthy living and the origins of our species for a long time, but it's only been fairly recently that I put the two together (daft, I know).

Last summer, I got my hands on Gary Taubes' book "Good calories, bad calories" (on my list of 'greatest books with silliest titles') and thus discovered The Amazing Lowcarb Story. Which, for a devoted bread, muesli, pasta, legume and rice lover with a crooked sweet tooth was interesting news, to say the least. I didn't have any serious health isses and just a bit of extra post-baby weight to consider, but my scientific curiosity was piqued, so I started cutting back on carbs.

Although my record is far from clean, I haven't really looked back. The most positive effect for me -- apart from shedding a few pounds -- has been a massive reduction in the afternoon energy slumps I used to experience. I continue to be surprised to this day by how little I miss my former food staples, especially bread and pasta.

Over the past year, my interest in what kind of diet we evolved to eat has grown beyond simple carb counts and somewhere along the way I found this site and grew curious about other aspects of primal living, too. So here I am, keen to play and have fun along the way.

My aim is mainly to enjoy the ride. Fine-tuning my eating, substituting more fit for flab and improving my sleep are all things I look forward to in the short to medium term, along with finding out more about the scientific facts and ideas behind primal living and being part of communicating them to others.

Ready to grok!

Kazazi

Thumbs up 2010 Primal Challenge - Day 1 (September 7)