Thread: Question about meal-replacement shakes page

pandapuffs Guest

Shop Now

I'm relatively new to MDA, and am starting to incorporate some Primal knowledge into my diet. I love my smoothies, so Mark's protein shake caught my attention. I've tried a few smoothie additives (like Nutiva's hemp protein powder) but I've never used anything like this as a meal replacement--that is, just the powder and liquid. I always had the impression that meal replacements might help you lose weight, but once you go back to a regular course of meals the weight will return. Obviously I'm altering my entire diet and wouldn't depend on a shake alone to change my life (ha!) but I'm still skeptical. On the other hand, since I'm pretty new to this way of eating being able to tackle at least one meal a day with ease would be great!

So what's the Primal take on these? How would I incorporate a meal-replacement shake into a healthy diet without losing ground the second I stopped?

Tarlach is offline Member

I think eating real food is primal.

I don't understand how anyone could justify eating a meal of powdered anything.

You certainly don't need protein powder to lose weight or put on muscle.

The "Seven Deadly Sins"

Grains (wheat/rice/oats etc) . . . . . Dairy (milk/yogurt/butter/cheese etc) . . . . . Nightshades (peppers/tomato/eggplant etc)
    Tubers (potato/arrowroot etc) . . . Modernly palatable (cashews/olives etc) . . . Refined foods (salt/sugars etc )
    Legumes (soy/beans/peas etc)

pandapuffs Guest

That's where I'm coming from. I've always been skeptical (or at least simply ignored) meal-replacement drinks or protein powders, until recently when I tried a couple Nutiva hemp powders. But I'm for whole foods, too, I just got curious about Mark's powder, and what place it had in the diet. It doesn't seem like a natural fit, but I'm totally new to this so I was wondering.

klcarbaugh Guest