Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Not Working for Me page

Adrianne is offline Senior Member

Not Working for Me

The Primal Blueprint is not working for me. I'm not sure why I feel compelled to make a post telling everyone; except maybe because I wanted to like it so badly.

My background is that I started out at 230 lbs as a 5'4" female in 2007. I lost 100 lbs by the end of that year and have maintained it ever since. I lost weight by exercising a LOT and controlling my portions. I didn't eat much in the way of packaged food but I still ate oatmeal, brown rice, whole wheat tortillas, sprouted bread, and lots of fruit and veggies. I have the occasional granola bar or ice cream with candy mixed in.

I would look forward to my morning 3-7 mile run or hour long weight lifting session. I can't seem to run anymore on PB; my energy is in the toilet. Plus, I now suffer horrible insomnia - I have never been an insomniac before. Also, I have gained 10 lbs. I think that is more the result of the cessation of running than it is a result of PB.

I wanted Primal Blueprint to work because of the lure of being able to eat 'unlimited' calories as long as I stuck to the plan. To be honest, I got sick of measuring, weighing, and nickel and diming every bit of food I put in my mouth.

So I've been PB for about a month and all I can think about is having a granola bar or a smidge of ice cream. I can hear you all saying, "Make that part of your 20% then!" Okay, so I guess I have to rationalize my food against a set of rules in addition to weighing it.

As it turns out, when I sit down to eat, the last thing I want to eat is organ meat or bone marrow or mayonnaise made out of fricking beef fat, for Christ's sake. So the idea of being able to eat unlimited calories is moot if I'm not enjoying the food. When I go to a steakhouse I actually look forward to the bread, not the steak. I like meat, sure, but just not that much. This is clearly not a way of life for me.