Thread: Traditional Sámi diets page

Mangrove is offline Junior Member

Traditional Sámi diets

First of all I'd like to say I've read the forum for few months now, but this is the first time I post something. I do not know about you, but naturally being a Finn I'm interested of traditional (pre-1950s) Finnish and Sámi diets. I have some experience of both food cultures since I'm a "Lapland-Finn" on my mother side and a "regular-Finn" from my father side. I've made summaries of common diet based on material I've collected from several 17th and 18th century sources.

Forest Sámi had identical food culture as the Finns before agriculture. Most commons catches were birds, fish, moose and bear. Reindeer husbantry is in fact a quite new invention in Finnish Lapland, starting from the 16th century. The only food eaten during winter months by reindeer people was different parts of reindeer, bil-, lingon- and cloudberries. As the females give birth to calfs in April-May, milk and cheese is added to the diet and meat is dropped out for whole summer. The only plants people ate apart from berries were Angelica archangelica and Rumex acetosa.

avocado is offline Senior Member
    Interesting So in summer, did they have much fruit or vegetables? Otherwise it sounds like summer food is nothing but milk, cheese and berries. I assume they could still get fish?

Quote Originally Posted by avocado View Post
    Interesting So in summer, did they have much fruit or vegetables? Otherwise it sounds like summer food is nothing but milk, cheese and berries. I assume they could still get fish?