Thread: New guy makes some observations page

Optimus Primal is offline Senior Member

New guy makes some observations

Shop Now
    Hi there.

I am new to PB, and still deciding how strictly I'll follow the program. I am sure of two things:
    One - I was a high risk for Type II diabetes the way I was going.
    Two - Whatever intensity I take this on should improve my health.

I chose to approach this from an add-on rather than take-off approach, for now. While I have decided to significantly cut down on sugars and grains, I am not opting to eliminate anything permanently at this time. However, I have chosen to increase my protein, nuts, veggies and fruits. Luckily, while I do like soda, rice, pasta, bread, corn, and a variety of very sweet things, I also really do like almost everything the PB encourages us to have.

So, my wife and I are enjoying more steak and big salads, and experimenting with fruits and other stuff. I cut down on sodas a lot, and other things quite a bit. I have made some observations, now that it's been a couple of weeks:

1) While I still like sodas, I do not as much. For example, I like Pepsi, but lately am either satisfied or sick of it after a quarter can. I toss the rest.
    2) I did like Slurpees a lot, but when I had one this week, it was too sweet, and not that great.
    3) I had my first Wendy's meal in about a month, and it was great!....for about the first three bites. Then it was just there.
    4) Rice is still really good.
    5) I'm really enjoying making and eating my big salads and having more meats.
    6) I have not actually wanted the variety of candies that I typically like, although I have enjoyed dark chocolate covered pomegranate bits.
    7) I thought I'd miss peanuts, but various tree nuts are hitting that spot just fine.
    8) I miss ice cream, but only sometimes. I agreed to sometimes allow myself to have it, but I have not really wanted to lately.