Thread: Cooking meat page

invasiveexotics is offline Junior Member

Cooking meat

Shop Now
    Okay, so total rookie question, but I'm not very good at cooking meat. It's all well and good to read a bunch of specific recipes, but I figure there are no better people to ask for *basic* meat cooking tips than a bunch of primal folks!

I was vegetarian as I learned to cook, and I'm not even that super at cooking anything, but meat is especially challenging. And being primal, I need to feel more motivated to eat meat! I love meat when it's well-prepared, but when I make it it's never quite right. So I tend to surrender to my roommate's George Foreman, which eliminates precious, precious fat.

What are your favorite meats and favorite ways to cook them? I'm sure I can find directions for certain techniques, I'm just never sure which to use!
    Starting Weight: 140, primal as of 8/13/2010
    Goal Weight: 120 by 12/31/2010

Underground Primal: Going primal. Quietly.

MeatMe216 is offline Senior Member
    fatty roast + crock pot + 8-12 hours = you cant mess it up.

You'll learn that some cuts need to be cooked long and slow to get nice and tender, whereas a decent steak you will want to cook quickly to get the sides done and leave the middle nice and rare. Dont be afraid to experiment in teh kitchen!

Jacques is offline Member
    Quote Originally Posted by MeatMe216 View Post
    a decent steak you will want to cook quickly to get the sides done and leave the middle nice and rare. Dont be afraid to experiment in teh kitchen!
    Make sure the frying pan is really nice and hot as well.

naiadknight is offline Senior Member