Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My first 12km - Advice sought page

paleo_rob is offline Senior Member

My first 12km - Advice sought

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Ok, So i have never done long distance running before. I have on a whim decided to do a run this weekend. I am fairly fit, but I don't plan on running the whole length in one go (would be nice! but I am doubtful).

What are some tips for preparation this week? What about day before race day? Any tips will be much appreciated!

Dan Rivera is offline Member
    Work on form in short distances before going long distances.
    Find your tempo and know it.
    And have a blast.

megalodon is offline Senior Member
    I have run a few 10k races in the past and found my best preparation is to have a few days away from exercise routines,get good sleep and eat normally ie:-no carb loading etc.

Then,as Dan says,find your pace and have a blast.

primalrob is offline Senior Member
    i was in a similar situation. i don't do any chronic cardio training since i try to follow the PB as closely as possible. but, even after no chronic cardio training, i held my own in my first sprint triathlon this past weekend, and i found that i had all the strength and energy needed to compete with nothing more than a couple days of rest and a sweet potato the the night before to help get me ready (thanks, Chronyx). there are also times when i just feel like going for a run, and i can usually fit in a good 4-5 miles way easier than i ever did 3 miles before going primal.
    give yourself a couple days of rest, a little banana or sweet potato for a little carb energy, and a solid warmup and i'll bet you can run the whole thing.

thanks all. I will get some rest the couple days before and take it easy.

im thinking of doing it in my vibram 5 fingers. but 12km sounds a bit scary going barefoot! any thoughts?

otherwise im pretty excited. should be a fun day either way!

chronyx is offline Senior Member