Thread: Parkour anyone? Even know what I'm talking about? page

void_provocateur Guest

Shop Now

Just wanted to know if there are any Traceurs out there living primal. for those who don't know what I'm talking about: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parkour

It strikes me as something Grok would have been good at if not actively encouraged. But I'm just a beginner, and it falls more under my play mandate than my workout mandate... but like any good prima...te... both things are increasingly becoming one and the same.

come to think about it, since I'm posting links about parkour and natural movement... Parkour is great for the urbanites this is probably more nature savy: http://movnat.com/philosophy/the-pillars

It is exactly primal. lifting, throwing, jumping, etc. Everyone should be proficient in these ten basic things: walking, running, jumping, quadrupedal movement, climbing, equilibrium (balancing), throwing, lifting, defending and swimming.

"Our true nature is to be strong, healthy, happy and free."

suzyschnitz is offline Junior Member

Pretty sure I did that as a kid--spent a lot of time outside with the neighborhood hooligans. I'm amused it has an official name. Who knew?

void_provocateur Guest

Hahaha. That's kinda the point. For some reason we stopped doing it because, I dunno, grownups aren't supposed to. All of a sudden everything is going back in that direction. Now we do all these functional workouts and natural method people are going, "that's what we've been saying all this time! who care's that you can bench press 450 when you can't carry a granny on your shoulder and run her out of danger."

Fun times.

maba is offline Senior Member

umuhk Guest

Imax Guest

I have heard of Parkour, but have never tried it. I know there is a loose affiliation between Parkour and Crossfit... probably the similar emphasis on gymnastics and body weight skills.

Here is a killer video! (David Belle... the man himself!)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yjC11RKtPco