Thread: Diabetes and PB? page

scubasam is offline Senior Member

Diabetes and PB?

Primal Fuel
    Ok, I have been messing around with PB for about 3 months now with little success because I did not stick to it for long enough, but my eating has been much better these past 3 months in terms of processed foods and carbs/grains overall than it has been in years.

I went for blood work last week and just got my results back. My HA1C is 6.3 and my fasting glucose was 123, both of which are indicators of diabetes. I have known that I am insulin resistant for years now (have PCOS and had gestational diabetes in all three of my pregnancies) but these results are the worst they have ever been.

My fasting levels were never over 106 and my A1C levels have never been over 6 (they have fluctuated between 5.4 during my pregnancies and 6.0 post pregnancy).

Does it make sense that my levels would be worse now than they have ever been with me cutting out almost all refined carbs, wheat and sugars on PB?

On another note, I have buckled down and have been following PB over the past 4 days and am finally starting to see results on the scale.

Viking is offline Senior Member
    Hi. Maybe you need to get really strict for a while. I think if you have had to "buckle down" to finally get results then you were not following PB closely enough before. Also, do you know your numbers from right before you started PB? It's possible you have improved them, right?

I dropped my fasting glucose from 130 to 117 in a couple of weeks being really strict, cutting out ALL grains and potatoes, and have lost 40 pounds since July 5 when I started PB. I think It's easier for men to lose weight though, at least I have heard that. Not sure what my glucose is now but may be improving still.

See what the more knowledgeable folks here say, but it seems to me you need to get extreme for a bit. Best of luck to you.