Thread: need to make a change page

beetle is offline Junior Member

need to make a change

Shop Now
    Hi, I am new to this PB world, and I want to change my lifestyle, but I feel stuck and unable to do so. I am addicted to carbs, or at least it seems that way. I am at least 30 pounds overweight and take multiple drugs for mood and depression. I really believe that if I change the way I eat and exercise I would feel so much better. I know that seems like a no brainer for some people but I am in a rut. What do you think the first steps should be? any suggestions or advice? tHanks in advance!

Griff is offline Senior Member
    Everyone's addicted to carbs when they start. That's because carbs are addictive - they have opioids in them (at least, the grains do) which cause addiction. Kicking them is going to be hard - but once you get through it you will feel tons better. It's called the "low-carb flu" - do a searc about it on this site and you'll find tons of information.

To get started? You want to stop eating all grains (so anything made of flour or corn - corn is a grain), all legumes (beans, peas, peanuts), and all starchy veggies (potatoes especially), along with all processed foods. Center your meals on high-fat meat (steak, high-fat ground beef, dark-meat chicken with the skin on, bacon!), eggs with the yolks, butter, coconut oil, and lots of non-starchy veggies. Don't eat fruit (including tomatoes) for the first three or four weeks because it's still sugar and your insulin will still spike. Don't use sweeteners or drink diet soda, either, as they can cause an insulin response in some people and the idea is to try to avoid that.