Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Allergies Kicking my @ss page

xendaddy is offline Member

Question Allergies Kicking my @ss

Shop Now
    It's ragweed season, and I'm officially miserable. The tiredness from my anti-histamines (Zyrtec, Benadryl) is only slightly more tolerable than the sneezing, coughs, itchy eyes, itchy skin and wheezing from the weed pollen. I've been doing allergy shots for almost two years, but I think this is my worst season ever. Are there any primal techniques I can use to cope with allergies? Any supplements that you would recommend?

Roberta is offline Senior Member
    I can feel you! Wish I could help. I am hoping someone else around here might have an answer. It has been a bad year for sure!

shannon is offline Senior Member
    adrenal fatigue usually ties in with allergies. mine were nasty last summer. this year i am 100% better. i cut out sweet foods (some berries every now and again are okay). i added cod liver oil (a+d), coconut oil and some raw butter. these are the ONLY things that i've done. most important is cutting out sweets. try to keep stress low;-) fats, fats, fats! oh, and absolutely no grains or legumes.
    Red meat is not bad for you. Now blue-green meat, that's bad for you! ~Tommy Smothers

blank_faceplate is offline Senior Member
    As god awful horrible as it is, the neti pot seems to help. As much as I hate using that thing, allergies are just enough worse that I still use it. Allegra and flonase has been an ok combo in the past as far as meds go. I'm in the same boat recently - no shots, but the allergies I thought I had dodged this year showed up this week.

Roo
    Roo is offline Member
    Definitely not primal (but neither is Benadryl!) -- local honey. I take 1 tbsp every day of the year and my seasonal allergies have disappeared. I have gotten other people taking it also, and they have also gotten rid of their allergies. I figure I will gladly take the carbs in honey if I can give up the meds.