Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Coconut Bliss page

Agnieszka Guest

Shop Now

Rarely does a product's self-assured name actually match the experience one gets when eating it. But the fatty Coconut Bliss ice-cream-like dessert does live up to its name: it's not only blissful, it's filling. (I only had 1/2 cup today, well within my 75 carb limit for today.)

Has anyone tried it? I'm hoping that this is something I can continue to return to when I crave ice cream.

I'm new to the primal lifestyle, and it's possible I'm missing some red flags in the nutritional info (http://www.coconutbliss.com/html/nutrition.html). Any advice would be appreciated--even if it means this treat is evil in some way.

Catalina is offline Member

I agree with you that it's amazingly yummy! But. . .the agave nectar is definitely a sugar, and there are many who would say it's just as bad as sugar, fructose, etc. There are some coconut ice cream recipes online, and I'm going to try making one with Stevia rather than any other sweetener and see how it goes.

As always, you have to take a look at how it affects YOU and see if it's worth it. My problem is, I can eat the whole pint at one sitting!

Agnieszka Guest

Fascinating. I need to learn more about agave nectar.

Let me know which recipe you find--and how it goes.

Yeah. I could eat the whole pint in one sitting, too! My trick has been to eat it verrrrrrrrry slowly. Plus, knowing I have to put down what I ate in my journal helps too.

billman89 is offline Member

it's great stuff, and to be honest, the 1/2 cup serving only has 12 to 13 grams of sugar... its pretty much all frutose so if your gunna have it, on those days cut out the fruits and stick to all green veggies. that way, you wont be overdoing the frutose.

agave nectar is fine in small amounts and moderation, but just dont have it on the same days you have alot of fruit. its ideal to keep fructose low as most fruits only have about 3-4 grams of it.