Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Celiac going Primal page

Owly is offline Senior Member

Celiac going Primal

Primal Fuel
    Another Primal newbie here...well, sort of.

When I was diagnosed with celiac a few years ago, I ate largely primal just because I wasn't familiar with the gluten-free stuff that's out there. I also got really active (martial arts, hiking, running, ballroom dance) and ended up in fantastic shape. However, I got really good at gluten-free baking, and then last year I broke my leg and did a ton of soft tissue damage along with it, including a bad ankle sprain and a serious MCL tear, so I spent quite a while sitting on my butt. That and grad school (plus a full-time job) has taken a serious toll on my health.

Anyhow, I found a better physio who actually believes in getting people back to being fully active, rather than just walking again. Also, the guy believes in real squats and weights, which is awesome. The knee is still not up to the rotational forces of taekwondo, though, so in July, I started Crossfit. I'm only about three weeks in, but I am loving it so far.

I started reading MDA a couple of years ago thanks to a link on Stumptuous, but I didn't get totally behind the idea until I started researching Crossfit and noticing the whole paleo/primal connection. I figured it couldn't hurt, plus I really love fat (way more than sugar!), and any diet that endorses butter and bacon along with tons of veggies is all good with me. I'm already a farmers market fanatic and organic food lover who eats a lot of elk, bison, and grass-fed poultry and pork, so that part is easy. As a celiac, it's also easier to cut the grains because I'm already partway there since my diet was already not bread dependent.