Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hormonal BC to copper IUD page

callherpetrol is offline Member

Hormonal BC to copper IUD

I'm a 20 year old girl and I've been using Yaz for about two years. I've had absolutely no problems with it. For about a three month period of time, I went off it, then back on and there were no symptoms. I'm trying to lose the last 10 pounds and I'm thinking the hormones might be preventing it. So I'm thinking of using the copper IUD instead. Does anyone have weight problems using this? I'm also wary of how chronically inflamed girl parts will affect my health. Thanks.

PrimalNavyWife is offline Junior Member
    Hi! I had the copper IUD for 5 years and I absolutely LOVED it. I never had any problems with my weight or with my "girl parts" while I had the IUD. I didn't want to use horomonal birth control and, for me, the copper IUD was the perfect answer. When the time was right I had it taken out and got pregnant a few days after it was removed!

Heather

Bird Goddess is offline Senior Member
    My friend Beci swears by the copper IUD.

StoneAgeQueen is offline Senior Member
    I have the copper IUD. Best birth control ever :-) The only downside is that you will get heavier periods. This has actually been a plus for me as I have too much iron.

mayness is offline Senior Member
    I also love the copper IUD. 10 years of 99%+ effective birth control that I don't have to think about at all.. it's like heaven. My weight has fluctuated too much for me to know whether it affected it at all. And I doubt the small amount of localized inflammation would possibly have any negative health effects, but I can't dismiss it entirely.

It does make cramps worse for a lot of women... I never had cramps once in my life before the IUD, and now I get 1 day of fairly strong cramps and 1-2 days of mild ones each month. It's totally worth it, to me.
    "mayness, you need to have a siggy line that says "Paleo Information Desk" or something!" -FMN <3