Thread: Crockpots and Vegetables page

Rivvin is offline Senior Member

Crockpots and Vegetables

Shop Now
    Okay, so while I've gotten better at this crockpot stuff, I just realized I'm still a newb.

I am trying to clear some stuff out of my pantry and found the following ingredients:

2 lbs frozen dove breasts
    1 bag of frozen stir fry mix
    2 16oz jars of spicy salsa
    1 can of artichoke hearts

I was thinking of throwing all of t his into the pot and cooking on low for 8 hours while I'm at work tomorrow, but I am not sure how to treat the frozen vegetables. Would they survive or should I turn the pot on high and throw em in for an hour when I get home?

yodiewan is offline Senior Member
    I'm not an expert either, but I'd go with the latter option. I think they'd get pretty mushy/unappetizing if left in all day. If they're like the frozen stir-fry veggies I have, they probably wouldn't even take more than 20 minutes to heat through in a hot crockpot.

netbum is offline Member
    i'm kind of a crock pot expert, since i've been using one for lots of years ... definitely save the veggies 'til you get home or they will be mush!

Thanks guys, I will cook it for 8 hours on low without vegetables, then throw the frozen veggies in and crank it up to high for an hour when I get home.

My plan on using dove meat backfired when I opened up the vacuum bag and it reeked to high heaven

Threw in a bunch of frozen chicken breasts, which takes the unique factor down but should still be pretty yummy. I'm not sure how much simpler a recipe could get! I am pretty disappointed though as I was really looking forward to eating that dove meat.

RESURRECTION TIME

Okay, so I have a bunch of huge Skin-On Chicken Breast w/ Ribs that were on sale at publix. I am going to try making an adobo like recipe but I am not sure the best way to put these things in the pot.