Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Primal and Pregnancy page

Andrea Winslow is offline Junior Member

Primal and Pregnancy

Primal Fuel
    Hello Everyone!

I'm new to the Primal Blueprint way of life and so far I'm really enjoying the changes and experiences. I have searched for someone else who has either went through a pregnancy while sticking to the Primal diet or someone with some advice on the subject. I am not pregnant YET but we will be trying in the next few months. I guess my questions all reside with the diet and lack of extreme physical exercise. Is it safe? Should something be added/subtracted from my diet? Anyone with any first-hand experience or ideas?

Thank You!
    ~Andrea

Jenny is offline Senior Member
    I'm pregnant but don't feel able to fully embrace Primal yet because I have so many appetite issues right now. Regardless, it sounds like a GREAT approach nutritionally for pregnant women too!

Mark's blog has tons of posts relevant to pregnancy. Just run this search: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/?x=0&y=0

hannahc is offline Senior Member
    Mark has done a few good post for pregnant ladies, and there are many of us who either still are pregnant or who have just gone through "primal" pregnancies. Hopefully some of those ladies will chime in too!

I've been primal for 1 year and 2 months, and am 11 weeks pregnant now. It's definitely harder to be completely strict with diet for me, meaning I was 95-100% primal diet wise for months on end (even at restaurants/parties/etc...I was great at finding the good food ), and now I'm falling more into the 80% range and including more dairy and fruit and it drives me a little crazy. I certainly couldn't do anything close to 50 carbs or less right now (I would stay between 10-40g carbs most days before), I'm solidly at the 150 range.