Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Exactly how much is needed? Carbs, protein & fat? Grams & percentages page

TAWFUNGUY is offline Senior Member

Exclamation Exactly how much is needed? Carbs, protein & fat? Grams & percentages

Hello Primal Community!

Just recently (5 days ago), I was diagnosed with Type-2 Diabetes after going in to the VA (I am a Purple Heart Vet - Desert Storm) after blowing off the signs of oncoming diabetes for 10 years.

Well, needless to say I am not in the best of moods so to speak about this news. I guess for me, I just never really could imagine that it would happen to me. But, it has and I need to do something about it and can use some guidance and help.

I am 41 years old.....

I am 6' 2" tall.....

I am 278 lbs......

I unfortunately lead a very sedentary life as I work behind a desk almost 14+ hours a day!

The VA is not all that forth coming about it, getting appointments prove to be challenging and getting the proper education or equipment from them.... well, it leads me to search all options. With that being said, can anyone PLEASE give me some input on what my intake should be for Carbs, Protein & Fat in Grams or even percentages and explain how to determine that?

I am thinking I need to have my calorie intake around 1800-2000. But again, I am going at this semi-blind. I want to drop my weight down to about 195-200 lbs and want to get the diabetes under control now rather than later when it is too late.

So again, any and all help, guidance, what have you that can teach me the specifics of how much the MAX Carbs, Protein and Fat intake I need to do would be greatly appreciate it!

Thanks!

Athena is offline Senior Member