Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Coconut oil + weight gain page

betty74 is offline Senior Member

Coconut oil + weight gain

Primal Fuel
    I have been consuming 3-4 T/day of coconut oil for about 1-2 weeks. My face and back have been breaking out and I have gained @4 lbs. Has anyone experienced this? I am not positive it is the coconut oil as I have not been as tight with the eats, but I have done that before. Just interested to know if any one else has experienced this with the coconut oil. I have been cooking with it and using it on my body for many months, but this is the first real effort to consume the 3-4 T./day.

emmie is offline Senior Member
    If you're taking in 3-4T in addition to your normal eating, you've added 300-400 calories daily. When I used coconut oil, I just substituted it for my regular EVOO in cooking, so it wasn't additional.

However, I stopped using it (I know that's heresy among low carbers) because my LDL shot up (that was my only dietary change at the time), and my endo advised me to go back to EVOO (LDL went back down).

Dannielle is offline Senior Member
    any oil is 120cal/tbsp. any time you consume more calories than you need you will gain weight.

I do use coconut oil but not in addition to my normal amount of daily calories. I know I don't consume 4 tbsp worth in a day. I would have insane diarrhea if I had that much.

I have been reading Bruce Fife's book, and Eat Fat Lose Fat, and various others. All recommend eating 3-4 T/day. If I cook something just for me in coconut oil than I count that as part of my 3-4. I don't think I have been eating as much since doing this either so kinda stumped. I need to start writing it down again.

john_e_turner_ii is offline Senior Member