Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: PCOS, weight gain and Metformin page

kequaid is offline Junior Member

PCOS, weight gain and Metformin

Primal Fuel
    I have just been diagnosed with PCOS which really sucks, but at least it explains all the weight I've been gaining. I have eaten primal/low carb for about two years and I am incredibly active, but I just keep putting on more pounds. I can't live like this! I don't know what to do. My doctor wants to put me on Metformin and claims I probably have insulin resistence... which doesn't make sense to me especially because of my diet. My carbs stay so low every day! Anyone have experience with PCOS? Anyone know anything about Metformin?

yodiewan is online now Senior Member
    I have no personal experience, but the lady who runs girlgoneprimal.blogspot.com has mentioned in some of her posts about dealing with PCOS. I think her name is Jezwyn. I can't access her blog at the moment or I'd pull the posts where she talks about it for you. I'm sure she's be happy to converse with you via email.

NorthernMonkeyGirl is offline Senior Member
    I have pcos; have been primal-with-regular-catastrophes for about a year now. PB has gotten me a lot healthier, although I haven't lost weight (yet??).
    Pre-PB, I tried all sorts. Nagged Dr for aaaaaages to try metformin. It did sod all for me! Went up to 500mg 3 times a day (i.e. with each meal). Inthe beginning the notorious "met belly" made a small appearance, so I ate a bit less crap. Meh. I would think that a low carb diet would mean you'd get little benefit from emtformin?

Do you mind me asking what your main symptoms are? That can point the way for various supplements and things to try.
    As a quick outline / comparison, the following things I have found useless or negative: Dianette, metformin, vaniqua, agnus castus, reductil, veganism, vegetarianism, topical skin treatments, topical antibiotics, antibiotic pills.... I kept gaining weight and had no menstrual cycle.