Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ostrim sticks: good or bad? page

bmahoney is offline Junior Member

Ostrim sticks: good or bad?

I'm new to the paleo diet, and was wondering about these seemingly too-good-to-be-true protein snacks.

lmyers04 is offline Senior Member
    What is this you speak of? can you attach a link? Ive never heard of it.

OK just googled it. My main concern is the quality of the meat they are using. It doesnt say anywhere on the site, so I would suggest calling them and asking. Also, it gives nutrition facts, but not ingredients. I would also ask them what other ingredients are being used to preserve this product and extend its shelf life.

report back your findings!
    Last edited by lmyers04; 07-29-2010 at 01:11 PM.

Clint is offline Senior Member
    @lmyers04: It's ostrich jerky.
    http://protos-inc.com/FoodForThought.htm

It's not the worst thing to eat. It's high protein. Not high fat, though. I mean, if you're gonna eat jerky, it's probably a good substitute.

lots of mass-produced jerky has crap in it, though. Have you read the ingredients on Jack Links brand Jerky? Its insane. HFCS and vegetable oils are included. bah! Thats why I always say you need to find out EXACTLY what they put in those sticks before eating them. They dont say on their website, so I still say call em up! And all commercially produced jerky will have some sort of preserving agent in them, by law they have to. And, is the meat hormone/antibiotic free(it says its a beef/ostrich blend)? etc etc......( I still would like to try one though. )
    Last edited by lmyers04; 07-29-2010 at 01:17 PM.

Daemonized is offline Senior Member
    They look like a great source of protein to me too. I'm not a snacker but I were and these were around, I'd eat em.

god I sound like such an anal-retentive uptight bitch sometimes........will someone please hurl ostrich sticks at me as penance? *fump fump fump*