Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Skinny-Fat chick needs help getting started! page

BarefootExplorer is offline Junior Member

Skinny-Fat chick needs help getting started!

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting in the forums, although I have been a a reader here for a few months. I have been eating mostly primally for about 6 months, but I have yet to take the plunge into the fitness side of things.

Here is some back story. I am 23 and female. I am 5'1 and weigh about 95 lbs. Surprisingly, I still have a lot of flab. I have a 21 month old son, and I have managed to lose all the pregnancy weight through eating primally. The problem is that I am physically incapable of doing many things that I want to do. I feel very weak. I have been like this my whole life. I was a major nerd (still am) growing up, who was constantly picked on by the jocks. I equated playing sports with being heartless, brainless, and uninteresting. The only way I got through this time was telling myself that it was ok that I was bad at sports because I could write poetry and they couldn't. I vowed never to put myself in harms way again, meaning sports and me just don't mix.

So here I am as an adult, and I really want to get fit, but it is very hard for me both mentally and physically. I get so out of breath and my chest hurts after even a slow, short jog (We are talking about running down one side of a soccer field) When I try to push myself, I often snap emotionally because it takes me back to 8th grade gym class. Kind of ridiculous, I know...

My goal is to not feel weak anymore. I would like to be able to rock climb, go for longer hikes and still be able to enjoy the scenery, and not getting excruciating leg cramps every time I have sex. I would like to be able to master the monkey bars.

I need some serious help getting started. So far my plan is to start with Mark's basic workout.
    Sunday - sprinting
    Monday - lift heavy things