Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Scientific evidence that man was not eating grains 10,000+ years ago? page

CaptSaltyJack is offline Senior Member

Scientific evidence that man was not eating grains 10,000+ years ago?

Shop Now
    You know, I never thought to really ask.. but.. where is the scientific evidence that man did not eat grains 10,000+ years ago, as Mark states in his book? Because corn WAS growing in certain parts of the world, and it is edible in its raw state (except for GM corn), and actually the corn of yesterday had higher protein content.

I'm a heavy PB'er, BTW, and have had great success ditching grains. In case anyone thought I was a pro-grain troll. I'm just looking for facts to back up my.. er.. debates I get into with people.

Stabby is offline Senior Member
    10000 years ago was when we started consuming them en masse. We ate some grains before then, but natural selection doesn't work unless it is enough to affect ability to reproduce. And since grains are biologically designed to harm those who eat them, it would likely take a massive overhall of the human digestive system, which didn't really happen. I think the grains assumed that we would be smart enough to realize that grains were bad for us and stop eating them...

There is Cordain's original grains article. It mentions the agricultural revolution and has citations for most of its statements.

http://www.thepaleodiet.com/articles...%20article.pdf
    Stabbing conventional wisdom in its face.

Anyone who wants to talk nutrition should PM me!

piano-doctor-lady is offline Senior Member
    Early corn was teosinte, nothing like corn from later on. It had to be bred for hundreds of years to get all that starch and the heavy ears.