Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Acid page

Gumdrop is offline Member

Question Acid

Primal Fuel
    Good morning,

Does anyone else suffer constant acid reflux? Does it go, can you stop it? Help, it hurts.

xxxx

Paleo Man is offline Senior Member
    There was a time in the tail end of my wheat eating days that I began to suffer from a lot of pretty severe reflux.

For some years now, I haven't had even a hint of reflux and my GI tract feels great.

Eliminating all consumption of even the smallest amounts of wheat and gluten was critical to my recovery. And personally, I also eliminated dairy and went to a Paleo type diet.

Even with these dietary changes, I still tended to have some dyspepsia and gastritis. At the time, I was still taking proton pump inhibitors, Nexium or Prilosec, that had been recommended by a gastroenterologist friend. I tried to get off these, but when I would try, my reflux would get even worse.

So I studied the pharmacology involved and learned that when you take proton pump inhibitors (PPI's), your stomach acid level drops down to near nil. But if you have been on PPI's for several months, and you then try to discontinue them, your stomach acid level will rebound to almost twice as high as it was to start with before the PPI's. And even if you stay off PPI's, it can take a couple of months or more for the acid level to drop down to normal. A drug company's dream, very hard to stop.

I found a protocol developed by internist Jacob Teitelbaum that helped tremendously in getting through the rebound phase of PPI withdrawal and that helped me heal from the gluten damage that contributed to my reflux.

http://www.healthy.net/scr/Column.aspx?Id=652