Thread: Borderline/High Lipid Profile and PB page

LJ_Dad is offline Junior Member

Borderline/High Lipid Profile and PB

Primal Fuel
    Does anyone have experience in dealing with an existing borderline/high lipid profile and not seeing changes to (or worsening)standard lab parameters (total cholesterol, LDLs, trigly) after on PB for awhile?

I consider myself about 80% PB (food intake close to 99% but drink alcohol occasionally, exercise is currently inconsistent). I have been doing PB for about 10 months..and recently saw a big spike in my triglyceride levels..(over 250) and of course my MD wanted me on a "diet". I don't get too caught up on actual #s per se..but in the long run I do not want get into potential issues with insurance based on lab values putting me in some risk category.

I know with the emphasis on fat in PB, lipid profile measurements could look different.

Is anyone in the same boat and were you able to adjust your PB food/drink intake to have some positive impact on the "traditional" lab tests?

While on PB, I've been feeling great and want to continue (and do better with my activity level).

Would also love any PB friendly tips on helping my lipid profile.

If anyone knows a good resource/site that has a search for potentially PB friendly physicians, please pass it on..especially in the SE Pennsylvania area.

Thanks..

cillakat is offline Senior Member
    Can you post all of your numbers?

You mentioned wanting to improve your activity level. This is very important in terms of improving HDL:LDL ratios.

Fish oil brings down triglycerides quickly. Take as much as is needed. There's never any need to spend on high priced, so called pharmaceutical grade fish oil. All molecularly distiled fish oil (ie everything on the market) has the same level of purity. While most fish oils have a predominace of EPA, DHA actually occurs at more significant amounts in wild fish, indicating to me that we should be taking in more DHA than EPA.