Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Good ideas on how to prepare chicken drums/thighs? page

Velocity is offline Senior Member

Good ideas on how to prepare chicken drums/thighs?

Shop Now
    I'm rather new to cooking when it comes to meats, especially in a "Primal" manner. (At home, I know of many chicken dishes we make, but all the ones I remember right now include grain of some sort.) My current kitchen supply is somewhat lacking too (yay poor college student). Any ideas?

For reference, I have onion, bell pepper, garlic, carrots, broccoli, and tomato available for use, as well as thyme and a variety of other spices. As for dishes, I'm unsure whether there is a deep-enough dish to use for oven baking. I'd have to check...

esloser is offline Member
    I cut up the chicken, throw some chilli powder, onion, jalapeno peppers and cook that all in some bacon grease. I then throw it on a plate with some lettuce, tomato, sour cream, cheese, and salsa or hot sauce. Sort of a Mexican Salad...

supersellen is offline Senior Member
    We grill our chickens, so you have access to a grill?

PMAC is offline Member
    I normally smoke or grill them but in a pinch use a baking dish and Cajun seasoning some butter and bake 'em for 45 min or so on 350.

PrincessGrok is offline Senior Member
    coat them in olive oil, fresh garlic, juice and zest of one lemon, and fresh rosemary. Allow to marinate for about an hour, grill on a low flame to avoid blackening from the flare ups. Delicious, and full of flavor

MeatMe216 is offline Senior Member
    I think this recipe came from MDA

I stuff the chicken with cut up apples and smear the outside in bacon fat. Bake at 420 for 45-1hr.

Egoldstein is offline Senior Member