Thread: Grass Fed Ground Beef Cooking Time page

Charlie Golf is offline Senior Member

Question Grass Fed Ground Beef Cooking Time

Primal Fuel
    I've read that you should cook grass-fed steaks about 30% shorter time than regular ones and was wondering if the same holds true for grass-fed ground beef.

My family wants me to cook my famous meatloaf recipe for them and I am planning on using grass-fed. Was wondering if I need to shorten the cooking time?

Any comments are appreciated.

lev96 is offline Member
    I am very new to this so I am not an expert and also haven't figured out timing for recipes. The one suggestion I do have, is to use a leave-in thermometer and go by the temperature instead of time. However, I read somewhere (don't remember where) then the temperatures for measuring doneness should be lower for grass fed beef than conventional. If anyone has a temperature listing please provide, because my preliminary search didn't get what I was looking for.

One tip about cooking for a temperature that is very important, is that internal temp continues to rise for a few minutes even after removing from the oven.

MJinLV is offline Senior Member
    I would like any info on this too. I'm getting my first order of grass fed beef tomorrow, and I don't want to waste any of it.
    Food should be fun--Thomas Keller

Katie82 is offline Senior Member
    I don't know but I would love to see your famous meatloaf recipe! I've been wondering how to make it without the breadcrumbs.

Roberta is offline Senior Member
    I don't know if the cooking time is different but it does cook up differently. It browns better and doesn't produce as much water. Sorry, I have never made a meatloaf so I don't know about the time.

Charlie Golf is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Katie82 View Post
    I don't know but I would love to see your famous meatloaf recipe! I've been wondering how to make it without the breadcrumbs.