Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: I'm confused. So control insulin but still restrict calories? page

nikdom is offline Junior Member

I'm confused. So control insulin but still restrict calories?

Primal Fuel
    Ok. I'm a newbie here and I promise I tried to search for an answer first before posting this. I found a lot of complicated information about insulin but I haven't been able to figure out this apparent fallacy -

In Mark's book he says that the key to weight loss is keeping the carb count below 100g a day. He says if you do that, you will lose weight. Then in the example diet he sets up for Korg, Mark calculates daily required intake and the target calorific deficit.

So here's the question. If calorific deficit is required for weight loss (and other studies seem to say that including the Harvard one which pitted different diets against each other), then why does he say keep carbs under 100g? What if I kept carbs under 100g yet my overall daily calorific intake (from fat and protein) exceeds my daily expenditure? Does that still guarantee that I will lose weight?

Also, if I try to understand the body's fat storage mechanism from an evolutionary perspective, it wouldn't make sense that the body would store fat only if carbs were consumed but not fat. Isn't fat and protein the primary diet of Grok, from Mark's book? So Grok's body would have to learn to store whatever he consumed as fat if say Grok wasn't spending much energy trying to ride out a lean period.