Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trust me I'm a doctor page

MuffinTheMoose is offline Senior Member

Trust me I'm a doctor

Shop Now
    There is a TV series in the UK called "Trust me I'm a doctor". It is causing me issues:
    A lot of the stuff they cover actually busts some of the CW myths out there so that must be a good thing. For example, recently they have covered why lard and butter are better for cooking than seed oils (tick), how red meat isn't inherently bad for you as long as it comes from well-looked after animals (tick) etc etc.

Of course they still, in the middle of this good stuff, make the odd CW blunder like "clearly you still need to limit your saturated fat intake so as to keep your cholesterol levels low"...

My biggest problem with it: The title itself. People are being asked to trust these TV doctors, because they are doctors so they must know what they are talking about. However, they spend a lot of the programme correctly de-bunking the crap that most doctors tell us all the time. So it's a case of Trust ME I'm a doctor (that knows what I'm talking about, don't trust THEM, the other doctors that don't know what they're talking about.

Mixed message or what?

I keep trying to be generous to the programme, on the basis that anything mainstream that actually corrects CW errors has to be a good thing to get the message out there and start re-educating people. But I can't help a nagging feeling that it will just confuse people more and end up with them still not knowing which doctors to TRUST, if any...

Just a rant, really, but what do you think?

Nellodee is offline Senior Member
    Well, why are we so confident that we have the right answers to this deeply complicated nutrition stuff? I bet those doctors are equally confident, along with the vegetarians sure in their knowledge that red meats and butter are terribly unhealthy. And ofc there are studies that support each of these views.