Thread: Please talk to me about organ meat page

triplemwf is offline Member

Please talk to me about organ meat

Shop Now
    I'm placing an order this morning with the farm (local, all organic, grass fed, soy free, antibiotic free, etc) and want to try something new. Where is the best place for a newbie to start when it comes to organ meat? I have the option of several cow and pig organs as well as chicken livers and gizzards. Where should I start? Also, any recipes or tips on preparation would be greatly appreciated.
    Height: 5'1"
    High Weight: March 2010 - 236lbs & Low Weight: July 2011 - 134.8lbs
    Current weight 6/29/15 185.8lbs

Follow me on Instagram @podtastic_eats

Check out my blog! I'm a newbie PODTASTICEATS.wordpress.com

John Caton is offline Senior Member
    Calf or chicken liver, poached or pan fried with onions. When done, lightly season with turmeric and black pepper.
    Stop by to visit at primalways.net
    Old Paths ... New Journeys

catgirl320 is offline Senior Member
    Hearts don't have as much a flavor as liver does, so some find it easier to start with if they haven't eaten much organ meat before. It can be poached in a tasty broth, or it can be chopped and mixed with hamburger meat.

I find chicken liver has a lighter flavor than beef. I salt and pepper it, heat some oil in a pan and saute some garlic, then cook the liver about three minutes per side.

Nightly Orange is offline Senior Member
    I like sweetbreads a lot. Have only tried cow, not pig. I think they have quite a rich flavor, but at the same time the taste is somehow "lighter" than liver and not as overbearing. Also, it's difficult to overcook sweetbreads so that's one thing you don't have to worry about when preparing them.

noodletoy is offline Senior Member
    chicken livers are an easy intro as a quick saute, with capers and golden raisins, or poached and then made into pate.