Thread: Boursin Creamed Spinach... AMAZING page

Cosima is offline Senior Member

Thumbs up Boursin Creamed Spinach... AMAZING

Okay, I'm new to PB so while I'm 100% onboard and I've read the book and scoured the forums, I'm very limited in what I can bring to the forum.

Which sucks. I love forums.

And then I remembered! I cook! A lot! All the time! I can share what I cook!

Here's my absolute favorite recipe ever for creamed spinach. You know your favorite steak restaurant? The high end one where everything is a la carte and a side of creamed spinach is like $12? And you order it because you think, "Hey, that's a lot of cash but I bet it's amazing!" But turns out it's not amazing at all and then you get the bill and it's like three hundred dollars and suddenly you want to shoot the creamed spinach right in its green creamy face?

Yeah. This is the creamed spinach you wish that was.

Hope I'm not overselling.

Boursin Creamed Spinach

1/2 cup yellow onion, diced
    3 T. Fat (I use half butter and half bacon fat)
    2 T. Almond flour
    1 cup heavy whipping cream
    1 pkg. (5.2 oz.) Boursin cheese
    12 oz. frozen chopped spinach (more or less. I eyeball it.) Thaw and squeeze dry of excess moisture
    3 T. Parmesan cheese, grated
    Salt, white pepper, cayenne, and nutmeg to taste

Preheat oven to 425; coat a shallow 2-cup baking dish with butter and set aside.

Sauté onion in fat in large saucepan over medium heat. Cook until soft, 5 minutes.

Add almond flour and stir to coat onion. Cook about 1 minute.

Gradually whisk cream into onion mixture, stirring constantly to prevent clumping. Simmer sauce for 1 minute.

Stir in Boursin a little at a time until melted and smooth. Remove saucepan from heat.

Add spinach, Parmesan, and seasonings.

Pour everything into the baking dish and slam it in the oven. Bake until golden and bubbly. Try not to burn the crap out of your mouth when it comes out of the oven.

Nutritional Information per 1/3 cup:
    272 calories