Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Push Ups are my nemesis page

DavidA is online now Member

Angry Push Ups are my nemesis

Shop Now
    Anyone have success with improving pushups by greasing the groove? I've been eating primal (actually autoimmune Paleo) for a year, so I have the diet down. But I'm new to primal fitness and push-ups are hard (so are planks and most likely pull-ups - I don't have a pull-up bar). I can do about 20 regular pushups before collapsing so that puts me in the hand/knee push-up category - I can do about 40 of those. Over the weekend, on my non LHT days, I decided to grease the groove by doing random sets of 10 regular pushups throughout the day - one day I did 130 and Sunday I did 180. Today, which is a LHT day, I regressed on my hand knee pushups to only being able to do 30. Is it too soon to see any improvement - probably yes. Should I continue to grease the groove on my off days? How long until I can see improvement? (I'm not overweight - I get concerned that Im underweight and want to put on 10-15 lbs of lean muscle.)

RichMahogany is offline Senior Member
    You're not going to put on maximum muscle doing bodyweight stuff. And doing the same exercise 2 days in a row is less than productive.
    The Champagne of Beards

sbhikes is offline Senior Member
    20 regular pushups isn't bad. Just do a few sets and see if you can do more than last time. Give yourself adequate recovery time between each day you do the pushups (every day might be too often.)
    Female, 5'3", 50, Starting weight: 163lbs. Current weight: 135 (more or less).
    I can squat 192.5lbs, press 75lbs and deadlift 210lbs

Jason Paul is offline Senior Member
    First, I agree that bodyweight stuff isn't going to do much for adding mass. That plus diet is what your LHT is for.