Thread: Carbs page

Heidi Lilley is online now Junior Member

Carbs

Shop Now
    Hi, I'm fairly new to Primal, and very new to this site/forum.
    I have type2 diabetes and a trying to keep my blood glucose under control, my last A1c blood test was great it was 5.3, but my last few months regular testings at home have been running in the 110-120 range, so I'd like to get the down a bit.
    My doctor says I should eat between 150-200 grams carbs per day which I already know is obscene, I've been trying to stay under 100, but I'm wondering what y'all would recommend for me as a goal to try to stay in for blood glucose control?
    my diet consists of a smoothie with one cup raw milk yogurt and one cup berries for breakfast, a large mixed greens and veggie salad with oil and seasonings for lunch sometimes with chicken or tuna or egg, and for dinner I usually have chicken, fish or beef and one or two cups of green veggie and once a week a sweet potato. For snack I eat nuts and seeds. Any added suggestions are appreciated.

TimBumper is offline Member
    U r 100% correct. The way to manage ur blood sugar is to keep ur carbs as low as possible. Eating 300g in no way is going to help u! Under 100g a day is a great start! If u maintain that over a long period of time(6 months to a year), I wouldn't be surprised if ur need to take medications completely subsided. The only thing that the Meds do, is lowers ur blood sugar.....it does nothing for insulin resistance, which is the real problem. Managing ur carb intake actually fixed the insulin resistance issue. I'm not a diabetic, but I test my blood sugar and ketones on a daily basis....to learn what my body is doing metabolically. My blood sugar stays in the 70's, and my ketone level stays between .6mmol-2.1mmol. My macro breakdown is 25g net carb, 85g protein, 290g fat.

Sent from my iPhone
    Tim Bumper
    KetoManiac

TimBumper is offline Member
    As far as snacks....my favorite is a "fat smoothie".