Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Esau's Pottage page

sva
    sva is offline Member

Esau's Pottage

Shop Now
    So I'm new to this site, and I'm new to journaling in a forum like this.

I'm a 52-year-old who was thin for most of his life until age 40. I gained a lot of weight in the next two years, and for the last ten, I've been riding this ascending roller coaster of gaining and losing and always gaining more. I stepped on the scale mid January, 2015 and was shocked to see the number 280 pounds. Granted, I am 6'5", but still, that is way too heavy. Yikes! I thought to myself, "Okay, now I'm paying attention."

I eventually stumbled upon the paleo approach to eating..and that all led me here to Mark's Daily Apple and the Primal Blueprint. From what I've read and experienced in the last five weeks, I'm coming to believe this is the path I want and need to be on. I've already dropped 20 pounds, and that feels good. But I feel this approach to eating is really helping me to have a better relationship to food all around. Now that I have greater clarity on the kinds of food that are going to get me in trouble, I'm staying away. It's working. I'm feeling so much better. More energy. More focus. Less joint pain in my knees. Life seems to be improving in a hurry.

Some may wonder about the title of my journal here, "Esau's Pottage." Remember that dude from the Old Testament, Jacob's twin brother who was born first? He was the hunter who came back from the field overcome with hunger, and he traded his birthright to his shyster brother Jacob for a bowl of soup. That was a big deal and an utterly stupid mistake on Esau's part. He gave up something so important for something so temporary, a bowl of soup.