Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Primal Fantasy: the incredible shrinking author page

Diotima is offline Junior Member

Smile Primal Fantasy: The incredible shrinking author

Primal Fuel
    Hi, everyone,

I've been lurking for several months while I debate with myself about starting a journal. End result: I need one to help me through plateaus and other frustrations.

I'm a sci-fi/fantasy author. The first dictum of my profession is "Sit butt in chair." So, yeah, it's a bit of a sedentary profession. Anyhow, I have a big-deal event coming up in about seven months, the kind of thing that culminates in an Oscar-style awards ceremony complete with red carpet and paparazzi.

The good: I'm pretty motivated. There's no way I'm going up on that stage looking like a hippo in sequins.

The bad: I'm 47 and female. Not bad in and of themselves, but being a woman of a certain age does tend to make fat loss more difficult.

The ugly: I'm hypothyroid and insulin resistant. And I need to lose forty to fifty more pounds.

Where am I on the path?: I started the year at 235, lost 20 lbs by April, then gained 10 back. Got serious again in August and I've re-lost 7 of the 10, which puts me at 218. (I'm somewhere between 5'6" and 5'7".)

How Primal am I? That's hard for me to say. I'd put it somewhere between dilletantish and transitional. At the moment, it's more important for me to stay in ketosis than to be strictly primal, but my diet is pretty clean.

Here's what's typical:

Breakfast: 2-3 eggs fried in butter (yes, Kerrygold) served over crushed pork rinds or over sauteed veggies left over from the night before. Coffee (3 mugs, half caff) with coconut milk and no sugar or sweetener.

Lunch: A mixing bowl size salad with spring mix, cukes, peppers, snow peas, some meat from a previous dinner and sesame oil and balsamic vinegar as dressing.

Dinner: homemade pork chile verde with a dollop of sour cream