Thread: Question about figuring protein and fat need page

clearlyd is offline Junior Member

Question about figuring protein and fat need

Shop Now
    I'm new to this, and have question about my protein - and fat too.
    I see that your formula is .7 - 1 grams per lb. of lean body mass. I need to loose 80 lbs,,, So I assume that I would do the math for the lean body mass that I am aiming for, and not my current lean body mass,,, Is that right? If so, computing for my target weight and a not too strict amount of calories, I would need: about 80 gr. protein, and then (using recommendations), a maximum of 80 gr carbs.,,,and that would mean about 96 gr. fat. I'm wondering how Ok it is to meet the carb and protein target, but eating more fat - sometimes much more. Today for example I ate 85 pro., 77 carb, 150 fat. I could really use some feedback.
    - I realize that 80 carbs is a maximum carbs for weight loss and I am eating less some days: 49, 65, and 70 are daily carb totals for some days this week.

BushcraftAl is offline Member
    Typically it's the best if you're overweight to calculate off your lean body mass when determining nutritional requirements. For the best results, you want to meet your macronutrient requirements as close as possible.

noodletoy is offline Senior Member
    are you male or female? that's not quite 2000 cals which may be too much if you are female or maybe not. if you are male it probably is not be enough.

80 gms of protein is on the lowish end...

the carb curve here has pretty much fallen out favor, but if you want to start relatively lc, that's fine.

you're just going to have to see how you do.

everybody is different.